advertisement
Disaster Plan 亚博棋牌平台
December 14, 2020

Top Headlines
 

Effective Government Saves Lives in Cyclones, Other Disasters

Effective national and local governments are associated with fewer deaths from tropical cyclone disasters -- even in countries with similar levels of wealth and ...

New Dataset Provides County-Level Exposure Numbers for Tropical Cyclones, Human Health

The new open source data set can be used for epidemiological research on tropical ...

Are Climate Scientists Being Too Cautious When Linking Extreme Weather to Climate Change?

Climate science has focused on avoiding false alarms when linking extreme events to climate change. But it could learn from how weather forecasters ...

Total Deaths Recorded During the Pandemic Far Exceed Those Attributed to COVID-19, New Data Show

For every two deaths attributed to COVID-19 in the U.S., a third American dies as a result of the pandemic, according to new data. The study shows ...
Latest Headlines
updated 2:38pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Business Closures, Partial Reopenings Due to COVID May Cost the U.S. $3-$5 Trillion in GDP Over 2 Years, Study Finds

Economists project that a best-case scenario for the United States hinges on whether the initial mandatory closures and social distancing measures were sufficient to control the rise in coronavirus ...

How Lockdown May Lead to 'Avoidable Harm' for the Health of Under 16s

Decreases in hospital attendances and admissions amid fears of COVID-19 may result in avoidable harm for under 16s, say researchers. Following lockdown, they found 'a striking decrease' in ...

Areas Where the Next Pandemic Could Emerge Are Revealed

A team of experts has incorporated environmental, social and economic considerations -- including air transit centrality -- to identify key areas at risk of leading to the next pandemic. The research ...

Pandemic Has Surprising Impacts on Public Transit Demand

The COVID-19 pandemic had surprising effects on demand for public transit in American cities, new research suggests. While demand for public transit dropped about 73 percent across the country after ...

COVID-19 Highlights Risks of Wildlife Trade

Researchers say that more epidemics resulting from animal hosts are inevitable unless urgent action is taken. To protect against future pandemics, they call for governments to establish effective ...

In a Pandemic, Migration Away from Dense Cities More Effective Than Closing Borders

During the COVID-19 pandemic, closing national borders and borders between states and regions has been prevalent. But does it help? In a new paper, researchers decided to put this hypothesis to the ...

Some U.S. States Hit Harder by COVID-19 Food Insecurity

Food insecurity in America is reaching an all-time high during the COVID-19 pandemic. But large regional differences exist in the severity of the ...

The Strategic Stockpile Failed; Experts Propose New Approach to Emergency Preparedness

A new analysis of the United States government's response to COVID-19 highlights myriad problems with an approach that relied, in large part, on international supply chains and the Strategic ...

Trauma Hospitalizations Fall in Philly During COVID-19 Lockdown, but Gun Violence Rises

Non-intentional trauma fell compared to the period before COVID this year, but ratios of gun violence patients increased after stay-at-home orders were implemented, and were high compared to the same ...

Social Media Can Guide Public Pandemic Policy, Research Finds

As global cases of COVID-19 fast approach 50 million, a team of Australian, Afghan, Iranian and Italian researchers examined more than 35,000 tweets and say social media analytics can capture the ...

Four Major Predictors of COVID-19 Emerge in New Study

In March 2020, New York City, an icon of America, was unfortunately named an early epicenter of the novel coronavirus. Now seven months later, America faces a new surge in coronavirus cases and ...

Discrimination Increases Against Asian and Asian American Population, Affecting Health

Reports of racial discrimination against Asians and Asian-Americans have increased since the start of the COVID-19 pandemic hit the United States, coinciding with an increase in reported negative ...

High Rate of Symptomless COVID-19 Infection Among Grocery Store Workers

Grocery store employees are likely to be at heightened risk of COVID-19 infection, with those in customer-facing roles 5 times as likely to test positive as their colleagues in other positions, a new ...

COVID-19 a Double Blow for Chronic Disease Patients

The COVID-19 pandemic has escalated into a 'syndemic' for people with chronic illnesses, a new study analyzing data from low and middle-income countries ...

Analyzing Web Searches Can Help Experts Predict, Respond to COVID-19 Hot Spots

Web-based analytics have demonstrated their value in predicting the spread of infectious disease, and a new study indicates the value of analyzing Google web searches for keywords related to ...

Personality Traits Affect Shelter at Home Compliance

A worldwide survey conducted during the first wave of the COVID-19 pandemic found that people with certain common personality traits were less likely to shelter at home when government policies were ...

A New Toolkit for Capturing How COVID-19 Impacts Crime

A new set of assessment tools shows promise in capturing how the COVID-19 pandemic affects patterns of criminal ...

How Psychological Ownership Can Enhance Stewardship for Public Goods

How can consumers be encouraged to take better care of public goods and ...

Perception of Risk and Optimism Barriers in Behavior During Coronavirus

Until a vaccine and/or effective cure for COVID-19 becomes available, battling the current pandemic strongly relies on how well people follow behavioural advice, such as adhering to local ...

A Circular Economy Could Save the World's Economy Post-COVID-19

The world's economy is feeling the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic with many industries under threat. Researchers have concluded that adopting circular economy strategies would be the best way ...

Thursday, December 10, 2020
Monday, November 30, 2020
Tuesday, November 24, 2020
Wednesday, November 18, 2020
Tuesday, November 17, 2020
Thursday, November 12, 2020
Monday, November 9, 2020
Thursday, November 5, 2020
Wednesday, November 4, 2020
Monday, November 2, 2020
Friday, October 30, 2020
Friday, October 23, 2020
Thursday, October 22, 2020
Thursday, October 15, 2020
Tuesday, October 13, 2020
Monday, October 12, 2020
Thursday, October 8, 2020
Wednesday, October 7, 2020
Tuesday, October 6, 2020
Monday, October 5, 2020
Thursday, October 1, 2020
Tuesday, September 29, 2020
Monday, September 28, 2020
Friday, September 25, 2020
Thursday, September 24, 2020
Wednesday, September 23, 2020
Monday, September 21, 2020
Thursday, September 17, 2020
Wednesday, September 16, 2020
Thursday, September 10, 2020
Friday, September 4, 2020
Thursday, September 3, 2020
Wednesday, September 2, 2020
Friday, August 28, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Wednesday, August 26, 2020
Tuesday, August 25, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Thursday, August 20, 2020
Tuesday, August 18, 2020
Thursday, August 13, 2020
Tuesday, August 11, 2020
Monday, August 10, 2020
Wednesday, August 5, 2020
Tuesday, August 4, 2020
Thursday, July 30, 2020
Wednesday, July 29, 2020
Friday, July 24, 2020
Thursday, July 23, 2020
Tuesday, July 21, 2020
Thursday, July 16, 2020
Wednesday, July 15, 2020
Friday, July 10, 2020
Thursday, July 9, 2020
Thursday, July 2, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Monday, June 29, 2020
Friday, June 26, 2020
Wednesday, June 24, 2020
Tuesday, June 23, 2020
Thursday, June 18, 2020
Wednesday, June 17, 2020
Tuesday, June 16, 2020
Monday, June 15, 2020
Wednesday, June 10, 2020
Monday, June 8, 2020
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Thursday, May 28, 2020
Thursday, May 21, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Tuesday, May 19, 2020