advertisement
Hearing Loss 亚博棋牌平台
December 18, 2020

Top Headlines
 

New Research Could Help Millions Who Suffer from 'Ringing in the Ears'

In the largest clinical trial of its kind, researchers show that combining sound and electrical stimulation of the tongue can significantly reduce tinnitus, commonly described as 'ringing in the ...

Two Molecular Handshakes for Hearing

Scientists have mapped and simulated those filaments at the atomic level, a discovery that shed lights on how the inner ear works and that could help researchers learn more about how and why people ...

Role of Protein in Development of New Hearing Hair Cells

Researchers have conducted a study that has determined the role that a critical protein plays in the development of hair cells. These hair cells are vital for hearing. Some of these cells amplify ...

Forty Percent of Dementia Cases Could Be Prevented or Delayed by Targeting 12 Risk Factors Throughout Life

Forty percent of dementia cases could be prevented or delayed by targeting 12 risk factors throughout life, experts ...
Latest Headlines
updated 9:59pm EST

Earlier Headlines
 

Stay-at-Home Orders Cut Noise Exposure Nearly in Half

People's exposure to environmental noise dropped nearly in half during the early months of the coronavirus pandemic, according to researchers who analyzed data from the Apple Hearing ...

Understanding the Link Between Hearing Loss and Dementia

Scientists have developed a new theory as to how hearing loss may cause dementia and believe that tackling this sensory impairment early may help to prevent the ...

Cochlear Implants Should Be Recommended for Adults More Often

An international group of hearing specialists has released a new set of recommendations emphasizing that cochlear implants should be offered to adults who have moderate to severe or worse hearing ...

Frequent Use of Antimicrobial Drugs in Early Life Shifts Bacterial Profiles in Saliva

The strongest associations were presented with azithromycin that is used for example to middle ear infections, strep throat and ...

Opioid Use Can Trigger Deafness

Opioid receptors in the inner ear can cause partial or full hearing loss, according to new ...

Social Distancing Decreased Pediatric Respiratory Tract Infections in Finland

Finland declared a lockdown in response to the coronavirus pandemic in March 2020, and the ensuing social distancing measures decreased the number of pediatric emergency room visits to nearly ...

Common Characteristics of Rare Pediatric Brain Tumors

In a new study, researchers found that pediatric acoustic neuroma patients had similar symptoms to those of adult patients; however, tumor size was typically larger in the pediatric patients at the ...

Study Uncovers Hair Cell Loss as Underlying Cause of Age-Related Hearing Loss

In a study of human ear tissues, scientists have demonstrated that age-related hearing loss is mainly caused by damage to hair cells. Their research challenges the prevailing view of the last 60 ...

Hearing Persists at End of Life

Hearing is widely thought to be the last sense to go in the dying process. Now, the first study to investigate hearing in palliative care patients who are close to death provides evidence that some ...

Measuring Tape Is a Critical Tool for Following Zika Virus-Exposed Children

A simple measuring tape could be the key to identifying which children could develop neurological and developmental abnormalities from Zika virus exposure during ...

Common Inherited Genetic Variant Identified as Frequent Cause of Deafness in Adults

A common inherited genetic variant is a frequent cause of deafness in adults, meaning that many thousands of people are potentially at risk, reveals new ...

A Simpler Way to Make Sensory Hearing Cells

Scientists are whispering the secrets of a simpler way to generate the sensory cells of the inner ear. Their approach uses direct reprogramming to produce sensory cells known as 'hair ...

A Promise to Restore Hearing

For the first time, researchers have used base editing to restore partial hearing to mice with a recessive mutation in the gene TMC1 that causes complete deafness, the first successful example of ...

Gene Discovery in Fruit Flies 'Opens New Doors' for Hearing Loss Cure in Elderly

Scientists have discovered sets of regulatory genes, which are responsible for maintaining healthy hearing. The finding, made in fruit flies, could potentially lead to treatments for age-related ...

Study Charts Developmental Map of Inner Ear Sound Sensor in Mice

A team of researchers has generated a developmental map of a key sound-sensing structure in the mouse inner ear. Scientists analyzed data from 30,000 cells from mouse cochlea, the snail-shaped ...

Ear Infections Discovered in Remains of Humans Living in Levant 15,000 Years Ago

Researchers have discovered evidence of ear infections in the skull remains of humans living in the Levant some 15,000 years ...

Novel Electric Impulses Relieve the Pain

Chronic pain can be reduced by stimulating the vagus nerve in the ear with electrodes. In a microanatomic study, the human ear has now been analyzed on a micrometer scale. A computer model was ...

Simple Question Can Lead to Remedy for Older Adults' Dizziness and Impaired Balance

Does lying down or turning over in bed make you feel dizzy? This simple question effectively identifies whether a person suffers from benign paroxysmal positional vertigo, which is harmless and ...

How Hearing Loss in Old Age Affects the Brain

If your hearing deteriorates in old age, the risk of dementia and cognitive decline increases. So far, it hasn't been clear why. A team of neuroscientists has examined what happens in the brain ...

Biomechanics of Skin Can Perform Useful Tactile Computations

As our body's largest and most prominent organ, the skin also provides one of our most fundamental connections to the world around us. From the moment we're born, it is intimately involved ...

Friday, October 9, 2020
Tuesday, September 1, 2020
Thursday, August 27, 2020
Monday, August 24, 2020
Monday, August 17, 2020
Wednesday, July 22, 2020
Monday, July 20, 2020
Wednesday, July 8, 2020
Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Monday, July 6, 2020
Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Wednesday, June 3, 2020
Tuesday, June 2, 2020
Friday, May 29, 2020
Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Tuesday, May 26, 2020
Wednesday, May 20, 2020
Thursday, April 23, 2020
Wednesday, April 15, 2020
Thursday, April 9, 2020
Sunday, April 5, 2020
Tuesday, March 17, 2020
Thursday, March 12, 2020
Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Monday, February 3, 2020
Tuesday, January 28, 2020
Thursday, January 9, 2020
Thursday, January 2, 2020
Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Wednesday, December 4, 2019
Monday, November 18, 2019
Thursday, November 14, 2019
Tuesday, November 12, 2019
Wednesday, October 23, 2019
Tuesday, October 15, 2019
Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Thursday, September 19, 2019
Friday, September 6, 2019
Friday, August 30, 2019
Thursday, August 22, 2019
Thursday, August 15, 2019
Wednesday, August 14, 2019
Monday, August 5, 2019
Friday, August 2, 2019
Thursday, August 1, 2019
Wednesday, July 31, 2019
Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Wednesday, July 24, 2019
Friday, July 19, 2019
Monday, July 15, 2019
Wednesday, July 3, 2019
Tuesday, June 25, 2019
Wednesday, June 19, 2019
Tuesday, June 11, 2019
Monday, June 3, 2019
Tuesday, May 28, 2019
Wednesday, May 15, 2019
Thursday, May 2, 2019
Monday, April 22, 2019
Thursday, April 11, 2019
Tuesday, April 2, 2019
Monday, March 25, 2019
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
Sunday, March 17, 2019
Thursday, March 14, 2019
Wednesday, March 13, 2019
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
Tuesday, March 5, 2019
Monday, March 4, 2019
Wednesday, February 20, 2019
Tuesday, February 19, 2019
Tuesday, February 12, 2019
Thursday, February 7, 2019
Tuesday, January 29, 2019
Thursday, January 24, 2019
Wednesday, January 16, 2019
Tuesday, January 15, 2019
Monday, January 7, 2019
Wednesday, January 2, 2019
Friday, December 21, 2018
Wednesday, December 19, 2018
Wednesday, December 12, 2018
Monday, December 3, 2018
Wednesday, November 28, 2018
Tuesday, November 27, 2018
Wednesday, November 14, 2018
Thursday, November 8, 2018
Tuesday, November 6, 2018
Thursday, October 25, 2018
Monday, October 15, 2018